Health and Safety Standard

At present, the recognised standard for occupational health and safety in the UK is BS OHSAS 18001, sometimes referred to as ISO 18001. However, while the British Standard OHSAS 18001 is used internationally, it was not developed by ISO (the International Organization for Standardization) as ISO 9001 and other internationally-recognised standards were.

ISO are currently in the process of developing a new health and safety standard - ISO 45001 - that, when it is published, will replace OHSAS 18001 as the primary international standard for occupational health and safety.

When will ISO 45001 be published?

According to the ISO website, ISO 45001 is currently in the 'Enquiry Stage'. A final draft will move to the 'Approval Stage' in late 2017, and the new standard is currently scheduled for publication in February 2018.

What to expect from ISO 45001

ISO 45001 will provide employers with a framework to:

  • Improve worker safety
  • Minimise risks and hazards
  • Provide a safer working environment

It will take the existing OHSAS 18001 standard into account, but the system will be closer in structure to existing ISO standards like ISO 9001 and ISO 14001.

If you need OHSAS 18001 certification for your business, or if you'd like to make sure you're ready for the new ISO 45001 standard, please contact NPT Management Systems for more information.